ForkLift vs Path Finder: transfers or a workbench

Both of these have been around long enough that the feature lists have converged. Dual pane, tabs, a preview panel, batch renaming: both do all of it. The reason the decision stalls is that the two companies do not sell the same thing. One sells a seat, the other sells a span of time, and neither price tag means what a one time purchase usually means. What follows is only what the two vendors state today, and the order in which to settle the question.

The two products were built toward different ends

ForkLift describes itself as a dual pane file manager and a file transfer client, in that order, and the transfer half is not an afterthought. The connection list on its own page covers SFTP, FTP, WebDAV, Amazon S3, Backblaze B2, Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox, Rackspace Cloudfiles, SMB, AFP and NFS, with multiple servers open at once and drag and drop between two of them. The centre of gravity sits outside the local disk.

Path Finder comes from Cocoatech and has been shipping since 2001, which is longer than most Mac software still on sale. Reading the release announcements shows where the effort went: AirDrop support, the system share sheet, native Apple silicon execution, a redesign for Big Sur. These are all improvements to working on the machine in front of you. The centre of gravity sits on the desk.

That difference lands before any price comparison does. Someone who has not connected to a remote server in the past month will never exercise half of what ForkLift is built for. Someone who lives on remote servers will find that Path Finder does not carry the same weight of tooling for the round trip. Deciding which of those two sentences describes the actual work is faster than reading two feature lists.

What each vendor states today

The table copies what the two purchase pages say, without adjustment.

Point of comparison ForkLift 4 Path Finder
Publisher Binarynights Cocoatech, legally Distant Future
Where it is sold binarynights.com, direct the cocoatech.io store
What the price buys a seat: single user, family, or five office Macs a span: a 1, 2 or 5 year licence key
Price with 1 year of updates 19.95 dollars single, 29.95 family, 69.95 small business 32.95 dollars for 1 year
Price with 2 years of updates 34.95 dollars single, 49.95 family, 119.95 small business 55.95 dollars for 2 years
Longer option none listed 122.95 dollars for 5 years
macOS stated as required 14.6 or later for 4.4 and later; 4.3.4 and later run on macOS 26 not stated on the purchase page
Trial a free trial entry point on the site not stated on the purchase page

The first thing the table shows is that the two axes do not meet. ForkLift changes price according to how many people and Macs are covered. Path Finder changes price according to how many years of updates are included. Putting 19.95 next to 32.95 and calling one cheaper compares two different quantities.

For one person on one Mac, ForkLift is the lower number. For a household with three Macs, the 29.95 dollar family licence removes the machine count entirely and there is no equivalent tier on the Path Finder store. For someone who wants to buy once and then forget about it for years, the 122.95 dollar five year key is the only option on either site that speaks to that.

The licence model is the real difference

ForkLift states the arrangement in its own support pages rather than leaving it to be discovered after purchase.

The license of ForkLift is a hybrid model between the one-time purchase and the subscription model. With a license of ForkLift, you can use ForkLift for as long as you want and install updates for either 1 or 2 years, depending on your selection. After that period, you can continue using the last version covered by your license for as long as it remains compatible with your macOS and hardware. Source: binarynights.com

So the version installed on the last day of the update window keeps running indefinitely, for as long as macOS and the hardware allow it. Installing anything newer after that means buying again.

Path Finder puts the same idea in the product names. The store lists Path Finder, Path Finder 2 Year and Path Finder 5 Year, each described as a licence key for that number of years. Buying five years at once costs less per year than buying one year five times.

Neither product is a subscription and neither is a perpetual claim on every future version. The number worth working out is not the price on the button. It is how often a repurchase is acceptable, because that is the figure both companies are actually quoting.

Stated macOS support tracks how active each project is

ForkLift spells the requirements out. Version 4.4 and later need macOS 14.6 Sonoma or later, earlier 4.x builds need macOS 12.4 Monterey or later, and 4.3.4 and later are compatible with macOS 26 Tahoe while earlier builds are not, because of a system change Apple introduced. The support page goes further and says that someone whose licence does not cover 4.3.4 will need to buy a new key to run it on Tahoe. That is an unflattering thing to publish, and it is also exactly the sentence a buyer needs.

On the Cocoatech side, the last release announcement for a new major version on the company blog is Path Finder 10, dated December 2020, which is the one that brought AirDrop and native Apple silicon support. The product page itself is now a JavaScript storefront, so no supported macOS list can be read off it, and the most recent blog posts cover general Mac topics rather than product releases.

None of that proves anything about whether the application launches on a current Mac. Software can go quiet and keep working. It does mean that one vendor answers the compatibility question in writing and the other leaves it to be asked, and it is worth knowing which of those two situations is being entered.

The practical consequence differs by buyer. On a Mac still running an older release, the ForkLift requirement of macOS 14.6 for version 4.4 rules out the current build outright, and the older 4.x line becomes the thing to ask about. On a Mac that has already moved to macOS 26, the same page gives a clear floor of 4.3.4 and a warning that an older licence key may not cover it. Either way the information exists before money changes hands, which is the part that matters.

When the remote server list is the deciding factor

The transfer machinery on the ForkLift side is granular in a way that only matters to people who move data across networks all day. Transfers can be reordered. Conflict rules and error handling are set rather than guessed at. Upload and download bandwidth can be capped so a large sync does not saturate the line. An activity view shows copies, renames, deletions and compressions in progress, and a log view keeps the results afterwards.

The sync feature compares a local or remote source against a target, marks files as matching, modified, new or deleted, and then synchronises one way or both ways, with the whole arrangement saveable as a favourite. The site states that analysis runs up to 20 times faster than it did in ForkLift 3.

Around that sit smaller conveniences with the same orientation: favourites kept in step across Macs through iCloud, favourite paths for frequently used remote destinations, and a quick open command that can apply a saved multi rename preset to a selection.

When the local desk is the deciding factor

Path Finder's accumulated work is in the window itself. Modules can be rearranged so the layout matches a particular way of working, the dual pane is long established, and the recent additions tie into system features like AirDrop and sharing. Twenty five years of refinement tends to show up as the absence of friction in small operations rather than as a headline.

ForkLift is not weak here either. Its preview panel plays audio and video, inspects images and PDFs, and edits text in place on local disks and on remote servers alike. Tags can be added, edited, removed and filtered inside the app. Sync browsing makes one pane follow the other through two identical folder trees. Tabs hold several folders in one pane instead of several windows. It works as a desk. The ordering of its own feature page still shows where the investment went.

One practical way to separate the two is to look at which operations get repeated most in a week. Renaming a batch of files to a saved pattern, holding a set of items while navigating somewhere else, comparing two folders before deleting anything: each of those is a different muscle, and each is served better by one of these two than by the other. Writing down the five operations that actually recur, then checking each against the two feature pages, turns a vague preference into something answerable in ten minutes. That exercise also tends to reveal operations that the stock Finder already covers, which removes them from the comparison entirely.

A third axis: the terminal and the AI session

Comparing these two makes the choice look like a binary between transfers and a local workbench. For a growing number of people the shape of the work changed underneath that question. Files get inspected in a file manager, commands get run in a terminal, and the output gets handed to an AI session. Three windows, and switching between them all day. Neither of these two products reduces that count.

A file manager with a built in terminal changes the arithmetic instead of the feature list: switch folders and the shell follows, so cd stops being something to type. The features page lays out what one window holding a sidebar, a terminal and a preview actually contains. Grouping tools by how they are built, rather than by feature count, is what the comparison of file managers is for, since an extension injected into the Finder, a standalone application and a transfer client have genuinely different exposure to an operating system update. Anyone pricing a switch first can read the free tier and the paid terms on the pricing page, where the requirement is macOS 14 or later.

There is also a need neither product addresses. When a long task is left running and the desk is empty, being able to see and answer it from elsewhere changes how a day is planned, which is the subject of reaching the Mac from an iPhone or iPad.

What to settle first

Answer three questions before installing anything: whether remote servers are part of the daily work, how many years can pass before a repurchase is acceptable, and which release of macOS is on the machine. The first question decides whether ForkLift's strongest half is being paid for or ignored, and the third can rule out an option with no testing at all. If the answer to the first is no and the three window shuffle is the real irritation, spend the trial on something like Atriens instead.

Frequently asked questions

Which one costs less?

They are not priced on the same axis, so it depends on the household. One person on one Mac pays 19.95 dollars for a ForkLift single user licence against 32.95 dollars for a one year Path Finder key. A family with several Macs pays 29.95 dollars for ForkLift and has no equivalent tier on the Path Finder store. Someone who wants to buy once and leave it alone has only the 122.95 dollar five year key.

Is either of them a one time purchase?

Neither is a subscription, and neither grants every future version. A ForkLift licence includes one or two years of updates and the last covered version keeps running afterwards. Path Finder is sold explicitly as a one, two or five year licence key. In both cases a new purchase is needed to install anything released after the window closes.

How can compatibility with a current macOS be checked before paying?

ForkLift states it in writing: 4.4 and later require macOS 14.6 or later, and 4.3.4 and later are compatible with macOS 26. The Path Finder purchase page does not list supported releases, so that answer has to come from the vendor directly. Getting it in writing before paying is the safer order, particularly on a recently updated Mac.

What if remote servers are not part of the work at all?

Then most of what makes ForkLift distinctive is cost without use, and the choice narrows to how much the local window matters. Before settling on either, it is worth counting how many times a day the switch happens between a file manager, a terminal and an AI session, because a tool that holds all three removes a cost that neither of these two addresses.

Back to all posts